NXT Takeover 2014 Predictions

Oddly enough, I find myself caring more about NXT Takeover than WWE Payback this Sunday. NXT Takeover is the second live WWE network event for NXT and according to the poster three matches have been announced. Those three matches are:

ADAM ROSE vs CAMACHO
You might not believe this, but I’ve seen a lot more from Camacho than I have Adam Rose. To me, Adam Rose is just a gimmick with no real substance behind it. Camacho however, I’ve seen fifteen minute five star matches with him and Tyson Kidd. In WWE, I saw nothing with Camacho, but in NXT he has a chance to shine. While this match doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things, I’ll pick Camacho.

NXT TAG CHAMPIONSHIP: Champions, THE ASCENSION vs EL LOCO & KALISTO
Well the NXT tag champions have received the call to go to the WWE. I do like how the tag division in the WWE seems to have fattened up over the past year. Kudos to you HHH for making the tag team initiative. I’d rather see four floundering guys in one match become stars than I would two not become stars. As for the match, El Loco and Kalisto are on fire. I see big things for them outside of NXT, but in NXT I see bigger things for them, so I predict El Loco & Kalisto to win the tag titles. As for the Ascension, I’ve never seen anything special about them outside of their entrance and gimmick. They should bring something fresh to the WWE tag division, but once they get stale, they’ll get cut.

SAMMY ZAYN vs TYLER BREEZE
I’d say the #3 and #4 guys in NXT right now. They lost a #1 contender match to Tyson Kidd. Very quickly here, I see Sammy Zayn going over Tyler Breeze. Remember how I said that I see nothing in Adam Rose? Tyler Breeze is a guy that is a gimmick, but in the ring he does have that ‘mean streak’ something extra that isn’t just part of the gimmick. Hopefully this match can make them both stars.

VACANT NXT DIVA’S CHAMPIONSHIP: CHARLOTTE w/ RIC FLAIR vs NATALYA w/ BRET HART
Paige is now the WWE Diva’s Championship, so she had to give up the NXT Diva’s championship. So there has been a month long tournament leading to this match, which is great. The big draw to this match is Flair and Bret Hart will be in the background and might potentially scuffle. To be honest, I couldn’t care less at the thought of two retired wrestlers getting involved. I’d much rather see Charlotte and Natalya. Both are very solid wrestlers and could rewrite women’s wrestling in WWE. I see giant things for Charlotte and I’m shocked that she wasn’t called up by the WWE instead of Paige. Charlotte will go over, because she’s on the rise and sadly Natalya is on the decline. Then Charlotte will carry the diva’s title for the next year.

NXT CHAMPIONSHIP: Champion, ADRIAN NEVILLE vs TYSON KIDD
Tyson Kidd came back, went over someone, participated in a #1 contender’s battle royal and then won a #1 contender match against Tyler Breeze and Sammy Zane to earn a title shot. That’s clean and simple booking. A guy that wins matches and it makes me happy to see that happening in NXT. As for the possibility of Tyson Kidd winning, I don’t give him much of a chance. NXT loves to keep titles on champions, and like Charlotte vs Natalya, Adrian Neville is on the rise while Tyson Kidd is on a decline. I really wish the best for Tyson Kidd, but he’s just a guy to make others look good. Again, I refer you to the amazing match Tyson Kidd had with Camacho. Simply stated, Adrian Neville for the win.

Leave a Reply

